Listen Live on  



Winter, Spring Weather Issues Addressed in Governor's Declaration

Posted Wednesday, May 7th 2014 @ 10pm  by The Associated Press

Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder has expanded the list of counties declaring states of emergency and disaster because of spring flooding and the winter's deep freeze.

Snyder directed the Michigan State Police on Wednesday to amend the declarations. He added six Lower Peninsula counties to the disaster declaration because of flooding since April 12, and eight northern counties to the emergency declaration because of damage stemming from extreme cold.

The disaster declaration now covers the counties of Newaygo, Osceola, Isabella, Mecosta, Missaukee, Muskegon, Roscommon and Wexford. The emergency declaration covers Marquette, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Delta, Emmet, Gogebic, Luce and Mackinac.

The declarations make state aid and assistance available to affected counties. They also authorize state police to coordinate response and recovery efforts.


Recommended Stories